Happinessecrets

Seeing the life differently!

Time management as an art

3 Comments

Photo source: weheartit.com

Lately all I can hear around me is: I don’t have time for this, I run late for something, I would love to do that but again I don’t have time, I would love to have more time to do what I like… Then, when they have that time, they start complaining because is too short, or they keep saying that life is unfair and everything that’s nice it least too less. It sounds familiar to you?

To me it sounds more than familiar, I was doing this for years, always being out of time, always running late, always blaming the job, or the life, or even the number of hours in a day. I was waiting sometimes to finish my working hours for that day, to go home, sit on the sofa and watch tv or read a book and after a few hours I realized that the time it was too short and I still had so many things to do and of course no time again.

Today we’ll speak about discipline, concentration and patience. Why? Because if you manage to master these three elements, you will never run out of time and you’ll start enjoying everything you do, every second of your life.

Let’s start with discipline! According to The American Heritage Dictionary of the English Language, discipline is: “training expected to produce a specific character or pattern of behavior, especially training that produces moral or mental improvement”. I know discipline might sound weird, but after a while you’ll see how easy will be for you to do it and you’ll even start to like it. We need to start managing our time! We need to get used to make a plan for every day that we are living, we can choose to write it down or we can only think about it. The most important is to allow our minds to do this every morning for a few minutes. This is not enough, we also need to try to divide our goals into small parts, because is more “understandable” for our brain. If you think: I need to clean the house, you might get tired straight away, only thinking about this; instead of this you can think: I need to mop the flor and to empty the bin. Doesn’t sound easier for you now?

Why concentration? Because we tend to do everything very fast, thinking that if we finish something faster we will have more time for ourselves; eventually we might get the time but we don’t know what to do with it, no matter how stupid it sounds: we just try to “kill” it. Doing something fast is not the problem, the problem it starts when you do something and you are thinking what you gonna do later or what you gonna eat or what you have done last Tuesday or you are doing multitasking. When you multitask you’re not doing something else than “robbing” yourself. Why? Because you are not focussing on what you are doing, the result of your work is not quality, is just quantity and on top of that you are loosing precious moments from your life. We all know that you can’t get the time back, no matter what you are trying to do. How you can learn to concentrate? By starting to spend time with yourself without thinking of anything, without doing anything, not even eating or drinking. You can also try to concentrate on your breathing while you try to empty your mind. You can do it in the morning or when you are going to sleep. If you choose to do it before sleeping it might even help you sleep better. I prefer to do it this way. The conclusion: when you choose do something, just try to concentrate only on what you’re doing in that moment and you’ll see how your life is changing.

Now is time for patience. If you don’t learn to have patience you’re lost. Why? Because everything needs time to grow. What’s happening when you are doing something in rush? You might take a wrong decision if you have to choose something, or you might lose the essence of so many nice things in life. The patience is having the same level of importance like concentration and discipline. We all know that in order to achieve something good we need time, so the best we can do is to have patience and to allow our minds to adapt to new situations. In the end, by just having patience we can learn how to gain more time in our lives and we can manage to avoid stress.

By the way, I wanted to write about love and I’ve read again “The art of loving” by Erich Fromm. He’s comparing the love with an art. In this book: discipline, concentration and patience are the essential requirements for learning and managing an art. I was comparing all the time management information that I had with his theory about mastering an art and I’ve tried to blend it together and adapt it for you, most of all because is so related with time and the information in this book is very helpful. I hope you like the idea!

I wish you happy timing!

Author: Anna María

I'm just a normal person who enjoyes the life and I try to make a challenge of it every day. I love reading books, I love people around me, I like to study and to discover every day something new. I realized that you can be happy only when you accept that happiness comes from within, I've also learned to accept the life with all her gifts and all the ups and downs.

3 thoughts on “Time management as an art

  1. Really interesting reading:)

    Like

  2. Pingback: Lessons on Coping: Character & Discipline | Inside Out

Leave a Reply

