Happinessecrets

Seeing the life differently!

What is love?

14 Comments

Napoleon Hill
Photo credit: Wikipedia

“If you believe yourself unfortunate, because you have “loved and lost,” perish the thought. One who has loved truly, can never lose entirely. Love is whimsical and temperamental. Its nature is ephemeral, and transitory. It comes when it pleases, and goes away without warning. Accept and enjoy it while it remains, but spend no time worrying about its departure. Worry will never bring it back.”

NAPOLEON HILL, Think and Grow Rich

Author: Anna María

I'm just a normal person who enjoyes the life and I try to make a challenge of it every day. I love reading books, I love people around me, I like to study and to discover every day something new. I realized that you can be happy only when you accept that happiness comes from within, I've also learned to accept the life with all her gifts and all the ups and downs.

14 thoughts on “What is love?

  1. Napoleon Hill is awesome. I did a post on his “conversation with the devil.” Very awesome!

    Like

  2. Read it the second time. Wanted to like it again 🙂

    Like

  3. Words well said, now if we could only remember this when we are going through it! This is awesome, have to do some readings of this poet. thanks for introducing us.

    Like

    • True! That’s why I read this quote from time to time, so I can remember the true meaning of love when I tend to forget. It’s one of my favorite quotes.
      His books are fabulous! He had the gift of seeing the things as they are, a great thinker. You won’t be sorry of reading some of his work.
      Thank you so much for stopping by and taking the time to read my posts! 🙂

      Like

  4. Perhaps I am misunderstanding Mr. Hill, but from what I have gathered, I disagree with him. I see love as loyal commitment, something that endures when all else fades or fails. When I tell my wife I love her, I mean nothing will get in the way of my love for her. I’ll keep loving her until death’s chariot takes us home to be with our Maker.

    Like

    • Hello Ryan,

      I am not married but I do agree with what you said about love being a loyal commitment. I think Mr. Hill is trying to emphasize that whether or not someone returns your love is not in your direct control. So if this person rejects you or loves you for a while and then moves on, do not feel bad that this love moved on. Instead focus on how great it was while it lasted and begin the search anew. Do not worry about it because as we know, worrying about anything is fruitless.
      That being said, I totally agree with love being about a loyal commitment, especially between spouses.

      Like

  5. Pingback: What is love? | MadeleineMaya

  6. This is one of my ALL TIME favorite sections of any book I have ever read! I go back and read this when I am experiencing down times and realize how fortunate I truly am. Thank you for posting this!

    Like

Leave a Reply

